The Timeless Way of Building – Notes on Quality – ii Book Club

Registrations have closed
David Valerio

The Timeless Way of Building – Notes on Quality – ii Book Club

by David Valerio
391 391 people viewed this event.
paid

Join David Valerio as he continues his series on Christopher Alexander’s The Timeless Way of Building

The Timeless Way of Building is a classic of architectural philosophy. It presents the organic, fractal, and down-to-earth way that we evolved buildings in the past, and serves as a biting critique of the top-down, authoritarian, and alienating approach to the “design” of human spaces so prevalent in modern architecture and urban planning. This is not a book solely about architecture however, as the ethos Alexander lays out can be applied to interventions in complex systems, the design of computer software, and actions in everyday life.

In this second salon in the series we will read about THE QUALITY — Chapters 2 through 8.

“To seek the timeless way we must first know the quality without a name.”

We are meeting monthly, for five sessions, to meditate on the multitudes contained in this text.

DM David (@davidavalerio) on Twitter if you want or need a PDF of the book.

***

Reading:

Time zones:

  • 1:00 pm San Francisco
  • 4:00 pm New York
  • 9:00 pm London
  • 10:00 pm Paris

Save the date for the rest of the series:

  • April 3, 4:00-7:00 pm EST
  • May 1, 4:00-7:00 pm EST
  • June 12, 4:00-7:00 pm EST

Why not add the ii Calendar to your calendar?

***

You will be sent a Zoom link for the Salon in your emailed ticket.

Apply for a student discount at hello@interintellect.com.

Find our online code of conduct here.

Ticket Information

Ticket to "The Timeless Way of Building Continued - Interintellect Book Club"
$25.00
-

Additional Details

Host Name - David Valerio

Event registration closed.
 

Date And Time

2021-03-06 at 04:00 PM (EST) to
2021-03-06 at 07:00 PM (EST)
 

Registration End Date

2021-03-06
 

Location

Online Event
 

Event Types

Share With Friends

Download Events iCal