Remix Culture: Using Combinatory Play To Create – ii Salon

Registrations have closed
Alex Yao

Remix Culture: Using Combinatory Play To Create – ii Salon

by Alex Yao
685 685 people viewed this event.
paid

Fellow Interintellect Alex Yao explores how polymaths and Internet remix culture use combinatory play to create new works.

“Combinatory play seems to be the essential feature in productive thought.”

— Albert Einstein

Nothing is original, everything is a remix. We build on what came before, and create by taking bits and pieces from our knowledge, skills, insights, and intuitions and recombining them into new creations.

Combinatory play approaches creativity from the lens of being willing to play with different activities and ideas until we find the combinations that create our “original” ideas. Einstein famously came up with some of his best scientific ideas during his violin breaks.

The Internet has accelerated our ability to remix our ideas. We are able to stumble upon ideas from all over the world and remix them together to create something new. Careers are built on top of remixed clips and audio. Hip-hop and rap represents remix culture in the music industry and has exploded in popularity around the world due to the Internet.

Are we currently all living in remix culture as users of the Internet? What are ways we’ve remixed content in our own work? Does remix culture speed up change on the Internet?

In this Interintellect Salon, we’ll be exploring these questions to understand how we can embrace remix culture in our lives and start creating instead of worrying about trying to be original.

We hope you can join us. – Salon Host Alex Yao

Reading List:

***

Time zones:

  • 1 pm in San Francisco
  • 4 pm in New York
  • 9 pm in London
  • 10 pm in Berlin

Why not add the ii Calendar to your calendar?

***

You will be sent a Zoom link for the Salon in your emailed ticket.

Apply for a student discount at hello@interintellect.com.

Find our online code of conduct here.

Image source.

Ticket Information

Remix Culture: Using Combinatory Play To Create
$20.00
-

Additional Details

Host Name - Alex Yao

 

Date And Time

2021-03-03 at 04:00 PM (EST) to
2021-03-03 at 07:00 PM (EST)
 

Location

Online Event
 

Event Types

Share With Friends

Download Events iCal